If you don't need your domain name any more, you can abandon the management of the domain name with following procedure.
- Access to our system, then log into your account.
- Click "Domain Name" of the "Main Menu" which is located on the left side of our website. Click "Management List" of the sub menu. You will access to the "Domain Name List" page.
- Click "Abandon" link of the domain name. You will access to the "Confirm for Abandon Domain Name" page.
*The domain name should be unlocked if you would like to abandon it.
- Confirm for abandan with clicking "Abandon" button.
Once you confirm Abandon the domain name, your domain name will be put on Hold status after its expiration date. And it will be deleted 40 days after its expiration date. (.jp domain name will be deleted on expiration date.)
*You can use the domain name until its expiration date even if you abandon the domain name.
However, you are not able to update the information after abandon the domain name.
If you need to change the DNS Server information and Registrant/Admin/Tech/Billing Information of the domain name, you should change the information before you abandon the domain name.
If you do not want to use the domain name and would like to delete the DNS Server, you should delete the DNS Server before you abandon the domain name.
**You do not need to abandon your domain name. Domain name will be deleted automatically if you would not renew it.**
The article was last updated on Jun 26, 2008.